My First Post!

Welcome to my blog! I am very excited (and a little nervous, too) about starting my very own blog. I have been meaning to create one for a while now, and what better thing to write about than food!

Food has always been an important part of my life. As a child, I was on a strict gluten-free diet for ten years and finding delicious eating options was often a challenge. However, once I found out that I had outgrown my allergy, food became a source of liberation for me because I could eat the bread, the pasta, the pizza, the cake, and everything else that I had to reject for so long. I can still remember my first bite of bagel smeared with cream cheese on that monumental day when I no longer had to be gluten-free. I never thought something as simple as a plain ol’ bagel with schmear could taste so unbelievably wonderful. 

Once again, however, things have changed. My sister, Emily, is majoring in Nutrition at UC Davis and has completely changed my perspective. No longer do I only see food simply as something that tastes good and will relieve my hunger. She has taught me that food is how I nourish my body, and that the old saying “you are what you eat” really is true!

However, that does not mean she and I eat completely restricted and regimented diets. I have a mean sweet tooth and Emily is an admitted chocoholic, so we do our fair share of baking and eating of delicious treats. Our goal is to find a balance in our food in the same way we balance each other: Emily teaches me about the small ways I can cut back on my daily sugar intake, while I remind her that sometimes it’s okay to eat another cookie–and enjoy every bite of it.

Leave a Reply

