Oatmeal Part I: Warm Oats from Emily

I am very excited to introduce my first guest blog post! This one comes from my sister, Emily, and I can guarantee that she will make countless contributions in the future. Emily is the person I always go to for food and nutrition advice, so I asked if she could her share some of her wonderful tips, insights, and ideas on how to make nutritious food delicious and exciting.  This post is all about one of her favorite meals: oatmeal. I hope she inspires you to revisit this breakfast option and fall in love, just the way I did.

xx

Hi friends! My name is Emily and I am Lauren’s favorite (and only) sister. I am a nutrition major at the UC Davis, or University of Cows, Davis as I like to call it. I absolutely love everything about food–cooking, baking, shopping, and of course eating. Drop me off at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, or PCC (in Washington) and I could easily spend hours perusing the aisles without even realizing it. Plus, all of my favorite grocery stores have samples, and who doesn’t love free food? That’s enough about me. Now on to the most important topic–breakfast!

Every morning (and I do mean every morning), I wake up excited to start my day with a nice big bowl of oatmeal. Now, before you run away from the thought of a bland, boring, tasteless oatmeal breakfast, I am going to let you in on a little secret. The trick to a delicious, life-changing bowl of oatmeal is not in the oats, but the toppings! Think of it like a salad. Whose favorite part of a Steak, Strawberry and Spinach Salad is the spinach? Don’t get me wrong, I do love spinach, but I am all about that steak (good source of protein and heme iron!) and those strawberries (good source of Vitamin C, fiber, and antioxidants!). For me, oatmeal is simply a delicious vehicle for my favorite fruit and nut toppings. Plus, the oatmeal itself is a good source of whole grains and soluble fiber. Each bowl starts with a splash of alternative milk and a hefty shake of cinnamon. From there, the options are endless.

Here are some of my go-to combinations:

  • Classic peanut butter and banana (add some jam for a dose of PB & J nostalgia)
  • Almond butter with pear and a dash of ground ginger
  • Almond butter with fresh or frozen berries
  • Almonds with sliced nectarine and blueberries or raspberries
  • Pecans with cooked apples (you can cook them right in the oatmeal!) and a sprinkle of granola (tastes like apple pie – yum!)
  • Sunflower seed butter with banana

Stay tuned for Oatmeal Part II: Overnight Oats! Enjoy!

Image


Leave a Reply

