Mom’s French Toast With a Twist

I decided to celebrate the end of Daylight Savings with a yummy homemade breakfast. I had some leftover sourdough bread on hand, which is my favorite bread to use for this recipe. I remember my mom used to love making french toast when we were younger because it’s a super quick breakfast to make that still feels special on the weekend.

French toast batter is usually made with a few tablespoons of sugar, heavy cream or half-and-half, and is cooked in a couple tablespoons of melted butter. My mom made her recipe a little healthier by using unsweetened non-dairy milk, less sugar (since the maple syrup adds some sweetness), and cooked her french toast with little or no oil in the pan.

She also insisted we use pure maple syrup instead of pancake syrup, which I always thought was annoying because we couldn’t use the cute little log cabin bottle. However, I later realized that she was just being a good mom because some of the ingredients in pancake syrup are corn syrup, water, preservatives, food coloring, and “natural and artificial maple flavor.” There is no sign of real maple syrup! Pure maple syrup has one ingredient: pure maple syrup. It also has a richer and sweeter flavor, meaning you don’t need to use as much of it to achieve the perfect pancake, waffle, or french toast breakfast.

I decided to jazz up my mom’s recipe a little this morning with a splash of whiskey. I used some Jack Daniel’s, but I’m sure any whiskey would be fine. Its flavor blends well with the vanilla, syrup, and spices, adding a little something extra to a traditional weekend breakfast. I topped my whiskey french toast with fresh strawberries and a drizzle of maple syrup for a little extra decadence. Enjoy!

Image

Mom’s French Toast With a Twist

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (regular or other non-dairy milk work fine, too)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1+ teaspoon cinnamon (I used closer to 2 teaspoons)
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar (optional)
  • Splash (or 2) of whiskey
  • 4-6 slices of favorite bread (stale bread works really well)
  • Pure maple syrup

Preheat a large griddle over medium heat. In a large flat dish, whisk together egg, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, and whiskey. Dip each side of the bread in the mixture, ensuring that the slices soak up some of the batter. Cook on the griddle until golden brown, about 2-3 minutes per side. Top with fresh fruit and a drizzle of syrup.

Leave a Reply

