Thanksgiving in London

It’s the day before Thanksgiving and I wanted to take a moment to reminisce about where I was spending the holiday last year. I was off in the land of tea and crumpets and although it was the middle of Christmas season in London, my flatmates and I insisted that we celebrate Thanksgiving. We were all busy with our internships, but with a little help from Whole Foods in South Kensington, we were able to enjoy a delicious, bountiful, and traditional Thanksgiving meal.

We were lucky that Whole Foods offered prepared turkeys, sides, and pies that we could order online and pick up in the store. We all pitched in for a turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and gravy that we just had to pop in the oven to heat up. To complete the meal, we made sauteed green beans, roasted Brussels sprouts, mashed sweet potatoes topped with toasted marshmallows, and red wine cranberry sauce. We also made sure we had plenty of Rekorderlig cider (our favorite!) to go around the table.

Despite being in a foreign country for one of my favorite American holidays, it was a very special and memorable Thanksgiving because I was able to spend it with lovely people and amazing food. I’m excited to be back in the states with my family this year, but I’m very thankful for the time I spent in the beautiful city of London last fall.

I hope tomorrow brings you warmth, happiness, and of course, wonderful food! Happy Thanksgiving!

IMG_5518


2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in London

Leave a Reply

