Mom’s Chocolate Chip Blondies

It’s finals week, so that can only mean one thing for me: baking! I had some wickedly sweet finals weeks last year (see: How I Studied For Finals). I sadly wasn’t able to live up to my past high standards, but I figured it was okay to have a slightly less sweet week this year when I have an indulgent winter break to look forward to.

This recipe is one my mom has been making for years. A traditional blondie is similar to a brownie, but without the chocolate. My mom added the chocolate chips, and this variation is sometimes called a Congo Bar. I like to think of these chocolate chip blondies/congo bars as a one giant chocolate chip cookie that looks like a brownie. They’re rich, sweet, and simply scrumptious.

These blondies can also easily be made gluten free. My mom says to substitute brown rice flour for the wheat flour and add 2 teaspoons of xanthan gum to the recipe (this gives the dough a ‘doughy’ texture that is lost with the elimination of gluten).

She usually sprinkles the chocolate chips on top, as shown in the photo, but I would try mixing them in next time so that there is chocolatey goodness all throughout each blondie. I hope you enjoy this treat as much as my family does!

Image


Mom’s Chocolate Chip Blondies

  • 2/3 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and grease a 9×13 pan. In a large bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar using a hand mixer. Add eggs and combine. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand. Spread dough in the pan and bake for 25 minute until golden brown.

One thought on “Mom’s Chocolate Chip Blondies

  1. Yummy! I can almost taste the gooey chocolate in my mouth just looking at the picture. These are quite delicious, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

