Grilled Turkey Avocado Sandwich

Sandwiches are one of the most perfect go-to foods for any meal. They’re quick and easy to make, super versatile, and conveniently portable. My all-time favorite sandwich is the classic PB&J, but I like to change things up and do meat and veggie sandwiches, too. Although there are almost an infinite number of things you could nestle between two slices of anything–bread, English muffins, bagels, hamburger buns, waffles, etc.–I still find myself in the same old bread, spread, meat, and veggies rut. To alleviate my sandwich boredom, I took a suggestion from my sister and toasted my sandwich on the stove.

The concept for the sandwich is almost identical to a panini, except the cooking method resembles that of a grilled cheese. Since I don’t have a panini maker at home, I cooked the sandwich on a skillet to warm the filling and toast the bread to golden perfection.

I decided to make this sandwich with one of my favorite flavor combinations: turkey and avocado. I especially love to add avocado to my sandwiches because it makes up for creaminess that is lost without cheese (one of the biggest things I miss on a dairy-free diet). I used whole wheat bread and mustard, and added some red onion, tomatoes, and greens for some extra flavor and to boost the sandwich’s nutrient value. If you are blessed with the ability to eat cheese, add a few slices of your favorite kind for some gooey goodness. The only thing that would make this sandwich more delicious is a couple slices of bacon right in the middle. Enjoy!

IMG_4143


Grilled Turkey Avocado Sandwich

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread, or bread of choice (you can also use one piece and make a half-sandwich!)
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/2-1 tablespoon spicy mustard
  • 4-5 slices turkey lunch meat
  • 2 slices of cheese (optional)
  • 1 thinly sliced disc of red onion
  • 4 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half (regular tomatoes would work better here, but I only had cherry tomatoes on hand)
  • A handful of leafy greens (I used Trader Joe’s Power Greens mixture of baby spinach, kale, and chard, but your favorite will work just fine!)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Heat a skillet over medium heat. In the meantime, mash the avocado so that it has the consistency of a spread. Smear it on one piece of bread and mustard on the other. Layer the turkey, red onion, tomatoes, and greens between the two pieces of bread. Lightly drizzle the olive oil on the pan and carefully transfer the sandwich to the pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes until golden brown. Drizzle a little more olive oil on the top piece of bread and flip sandwich over, cooking for another 2-3 minutes. Cut sandwich in half and let cool just slightly before eating.

Leave a Reply

