Pizookie!

It’s finals week, which can only mean one thing for me: baking! As you can see from my previous post about How I Studied for Finals last year, my favorite thing to do when I get overwhelmed by studying for tests and writing papers is to put everything down and head to the kitchen. 

There’s just something so satisfying for me about trading in my worries about grades and assignments for complete control in the kitchen. While I don’t know what will happen if I only turn in a 6 page paper when 7 were assigned, I know exactly what will happen if I only add part of the baking soda to a cookie dough recipe—flat and sad results!

This particular recipe is great when you want to make cookies in a rush, which is perfect for finals week. I can procrastinate some, but I can’t get too carried away! It is also equally wonderful when you just feel like making one giant cookie. The name “pizookie” is a combination of “pizza” and “cookie,” and comes from the famous dessert at BJ’s Restaurant and Brewhouse. You can order one giant cookie that is baked in one of their deep-dish pizza pans and topped with a generous helping of ice cream. At home, pizookies are a great way to save time in the baking process, and they make for a whole new cookie experience. Enjoy!

IMG_5446

Pizookie

  • 1 regular cookie recipe (I used my Cherry Chocolate Chip recipe, but anything will work!)
  • 2 cake pans
  • Extra butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and grease two cake pans with butter to make sure your prized pizookies don’t stick. Make your chosen cookie dough according to the recipe. Spread dough in the pans to desired thickness (mine were about an inch thick). Bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on how thick your pizookies are and how “done” you like them. If your pizookie is starting to turn too brown around the edges but isn’t done, cover the pans with foil for the remainder of the cooking. Let cool on cooling racks for about 10 minutes. Remove the pizookies from the pans if desired (you can just leave ’em in there too if you like). Serve warm and top with ice cream. Store in a plastic bag or in plastic wrap to keep fresh. You can reheat the pizookies in the oven or microwave for later indulgence.

Leave a Reply

