Mango, Corn, and Black Bean Salsa

Chips and salsa have always been one of my biggest weaknesses. Every time they grace me with their presence (which really is far too often), I tell myself that I will only have a few chips and dip. However, before I know it, I pause to find that I have eaten significantly more than just “a few.” Rather than deny myself the perfection that comes with a bite of chips and salsa, I’ve accepted that we have a love-hate relationship which, thankfully, always produces delicious results.

One thing that I especially love about salsa is its versatility. It can be spicy, smoky, sweet, tangy, tropical, and more. It can be a topping, side dish, appetizer, snack, and even the star of a meal. All you need is a touch of inspiration and a few ingredients and you’re all set to create a wonderful fusion of flavors and textures.

I was inspired to make this salsa while eating fish tacos with my family at Tied House. The tacos were were topped with a spicy pineapple habanero salsa and came paired with a mango black bean salad. Although I loved the pineapple salsa, I thought the accompanying salad was a great base for a delicious salsa. Thus, I created this recipe for Mango, Corn, and Black Bean Salsa.

This tropical salsa is the perfect balance of spicy and sweet. The juicy mangos give the salsa a foundation of sweetness, which is complemented by the heat of the serrano peppers and chili flakes. The black beans and corn bring extra body and different textures to the salsa, while both the cilantro and lime add bright and tangy freshness. Plus, the final product is a beautiful medley of colors with yellow, green, black, and a pop of red and purple. I hope this recipe inspires you to try your hand at making your own homemade salsa. Enjoy!

Image


Mango, Corn, and Black Bean Salsa

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 mango, diced
  • 1/4 red onion, diced
  • 1 cup canned black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 serrano pepper, diced (seeds included)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, minced
  • The juice of 1 lime
  • Salt and red pepper flakes (optional) to taste

Heat a saucepan over medium-high heat and drizzle with olive oil. Cook the frozen corn for about 5 minutes until thawed and slightly browned. Set aside and let cool. In the meantime, combine diced mango, red onion, black beans, serrano pepper, cilantro, and lime juice in a bowl. Add the cooled corn and salt and combine. Taste test the salsa and adjust salt, lime, and spiciness. I added a few hefty shakes of red pepper flakes because it wasn’t as spicy as I wanted. Serve with chips or on top of your favorite tacos. Refrigerate extra salsa in a sealed container.

Related Articles

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment